gta 3 definitive edition, gta trilogy definitive edition, gta 3 remastered, grand theft auto 3 definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps now, gta iii definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps4, gta 3 definitive edition ps5, gta 3 definitive edition ps4 review, gta 3 definitive edition review, gta 3 definitive edition review 2021, gta 3 definitive edition review 2022, gta 3 definitive edition ps now review, gta games ps4, best gta games ps4, ps now review, game review, best ps4 gta games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now december 2021, ps4 free games,
Reviews PlayStation NOW PS4 3

GTA 3 Definitive Edition PS NOW Review

Grand Theft Auto 3 Definitive Edition is an action-adventure game and was the first 3D game in the series back in 2001 and is available on PS NOW. GTA 3 Definitive Edition is an old game that was in desperate need of a revamp and this version gave it what it really needed, a modern engine that allows it to run on modern machines without having to modify the game files and a more up to date control scheme to make the game much better to play overall than the original.

The ability to restart from a checkpoint is a massive convenience which, unfortunately, I found to be using far too much for the wrong reasons. I’m not going to go into depth on the story, the music, the setting, etc. as it’s exactly the same as the original just with a bit more plasticky-looking character models and questionable graphical enhancements. I personally think that GTA 3 Definitive Edition could’ve looked better but I don’t think it looks bad per se I just think that there were some questionable visual design choices that make the game look a bit odd at times.

gta 3 definitive edition, gta trilogy definitive edition, gta 3 remastered, grand theft auto 3 definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps now, gta iii definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps4, gta 3 definitive edition ps5, gta 3 definitive edition ps4 review, gta 3 definitive edition review, gta 3 definitive edition review 2021, gta 3 definitive edition review 2022, gta 3 definitive edition ps now review, gta games ps4, best gta games ps4, ps now review, game review, best ps4 gta games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now december 2021, ps4 free games,

The first thing I noticed was how obnoxious the rain effects were as it sometimes looked like a hail storm. The character models I think look a bit too plasticky in my opinion and I think the main issue is the character models mainly Claude the main character is a bit too reflective and looks a bit off, also Claude himself just looks depressed. Textures look a bit haphazardly applied to surfaces leading to quite a bit of seeming and some textures look like they haven’t been changed from the original at all. There are lots of really nice-looking textures in some spots but then some others look pretty awful like they haven’t been changed at all. 

Some things I do like about the enhanced graphics would be the grass making it look very similar to what we have in GTA 5. Reflections just look fantastic during nighttime, in wet weather, and especially in explosions. The explosions of cars, grenades, and rockets going off just look really cool. At its best GTA 3 Definitive Edition looks almost as good as GTA 4 but at its worst, it feels like nothing has changed at all like I’m just playing the regular version of GTA 3.

gta 3 definitive edition, gta trilogy definitive edition, gta 3 remastered, grand theft auto 3 definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps now, gta iii definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps4, gta 3 definitive edition ps5, gta 3 definitive edition ps4 review, gta 3 definitive edition review, gta 3 definitive edition review 2021, gta 3 definitive edition review 2022, gta 3 definitive edition ps now review, gta games ps4, best gta games ps4, ps now review, game review, best ps4 gta games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now december 2021, ps4 free games,

Gameplay-wise I am very happy to say that GTA 3 Definitive Edition is very fun and easy to play thanks in part to its modern gameplay enhancements and controls. In GTA 3 Definitive Edition some missions are made very trivial simply because of the level of control you have as it’s just that much better. If you do fail for any reason during a mission there is a new checkpoint system allowing you to very quickly restart any mission that you were on.

It just outright has given the player the choice to rewind time and restart the mission with inventory intact saving a lot of time and sanity. I love this feature unfortunately however I found myself using the checkpoint system far too much for all of the wrong reasons. I’m not about to go on how some of the missions in the original GTA 3 are some of the worst designs of any missions in any video game ever.

gta 3 definitive edition, gta trilogy definitive edition, gta 3 remastered, grand theft auto 3 definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps now, gta iii definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps4, gta 3 definitive edition ps5, gta 3 definitive edition ps4 review, gta 3 definitive edition review, gta 3 definitive edition review 2021, gta 3 definitive edition review 2022, gta 3 definitive edition ps now review, gta games ps4, best gta games ps4, ps now review, game review, best ps4 gta games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now december 2021, ps4 free games,

GTA 3 Definitive Edition is buggy and I had to restart the missions several times. There was a mission where I had to check out an apartment and you have to throw a grenade through the window but you can’t do it while standing on the ground and I actually had to stand on the roof of a car after running around for a long time.

In another mission where you have to defend a truck from being blown up by a gang and where it has to turn into a parking lot at the end of the mission and this is where it bugs out as the truck either drives on or gets stuck against the wall leading me to blow it up to restart the mission. It took me so many tries to do this mission either because this truck is made of cardboard and it blew up in like 10 seconds or it failed to make the turn.

gta 3 definitive edition, gta trilogy definitive edition, gta 3 remastered, grand theft auto 3 definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps now, gta iii definitive edition, gta 3 definitive edition ps4, gta 3 definitive edition ps5, gta 3 definitive edition ps4 review, gta 3 definitive edition review, gta 3 definitive edition review 2021, gta 3 definitive edition review 2022, gta 3 definitive edition ps now review, gta games ps4, best gta games ps4, ps now review, game review, best ps4 gta games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now december 2021, ps4 free games,

Every time I had to try this mission it was like one minute of defending the truck and another 2 minutes of doing literally nothing while it has to drive up the underground tunnel again and it felt like they did almost no testing on this mission. So, while GTA 3 Definitive Edition as a whole is a fun experience, for the most part, there are times where that fun is just turned upside down into a miserable annoying experience where you’re just hoping that the game will work just right and it’s sad really because there isn’t really that much you can do once you complete the storyline.

There are hidden packages to collect and the vehicle missions to complete but there’s not really that much that you can do to fool around within the game because there’s no flying in this game except for one mission and the map is really small by today’s standards and there’s not really much you can do to explore. GTA 3 Definitive Edition didn’t quite live up to the hype of the original release but it was fun to revisit this game although I would probably wait until they patch most of the bugs to get the full experience.

GTA 3 Definitive Edition has been permanently added to the PS NOW service.

Average

GTA 3 Definitive Edition didn’t quite live up to the hype of the original release with the enhanced graphics all over the place. The new features are nice, the improved controls are great and it was fun to revisit this game although I would probably wait until they patch most of the bugs to get the full experience.

6.5
Gameplay:
7
Graphics:
6.5
Soundtrack:
6

You Might Also Like

3 Comments

  • Reply
    vaibhav gupta
    Jan 18, 2022 5:19 am

    good

  • Reply
    Nancy H.
    Jan 18, 2022 9:02 pm

    Games look so much better from when I used to play Tetris in the 90’s. My kids love playing their games(we have the Switch), we’d love to get a Play Station.

  • Reply
    Adriane
    Jan 21, 2022 8:12 pm

    Grand Theft Auto takes me back to college (and that was not yesterday). Good to know it’s still relevant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Newsletter SignupDon't miss out on what is new on Free PlayStation Games with our weekly updates.

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest reviews and news about Free PlayStation Games.