sonic forces, sonic forces game, sonic games, sonic ps4 games, sonic forces review, sonic forces ps now review, sonic forces ps now, ps now review, game review, best ps4 platformer game, platformer games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now june 2021, ps4 free games,
Reviews PlayStation NOW PS4 1

Sonic Forces PS NOW Review

Sonic Forces is a platforming game like previous installments with a few twists and is available this month on PS NOW. When Sonic Forces was released, it received a lot of criticism and for that reason I never really tried it out but it did look like fun. Going into it I knew that it was supposedly horrible according to reviews but I have played Sonic ever since I was a kid and the last Sonic game I played was Sonic Generations so I was hyped.

The story of Sonic Forces isn’t great but I mean this is a Sonic game so you probably bought the game for the gameplay and not the story. Basically, the plot is where Eggman hates Sonic and wants to take over the world except this time he actually kills Sonic. A few months after the death of Sonic, Sonic’s gang of friends plot a rebellion which is where you come in as a survivor.

sonic forces, sonic forces game, sonic games, sonic ps4 games, sonic forces review, sonic forces ps now review, sonic forces ps now, ps now review, game review, best ps4 platformer game, platformer games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now june 2021, ps4 free games,

The character customization is the main gimmick of Sonic Forces and personally I just got one good outfit and stuck with it for the whole game but it’s a really cool concept and it’s fleshed out really well. You unlock a lot of cool outfits as you play and not to mention, how many Sonic fans would like to make their own Sonic character. Most of the villains and heroes from other Sonic games show up which is pretty cool.

Eventually you end up finding out that Sonic isn’t actually dead but he was just being tortured for the past several months he wasn’t around but luckily, he’s a video game character so he comes out of it feeling as good as new. I’ve seen some complaints that the story takes itself too seriously with all of the realistic war over tones and I actually paid attention to the entire story because there wasn’t much of it and I really didn’t think it was that bad at all.

sonic forces, sonic forces game, sonic games, sonic ps4 games, sonic forces review, sonic forces ps now review, sonic forces ps now, ps now review, game review, best ps4 platformer game, platformer games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now june 2021, ps4 free games,

Though sometimes the quotes are a little ridiculous but we aren’t here for the story, we are here for the gameplay. One of the first things I noticed in the first level is the lack of camera controls and this means either one of 2 things. Sonic Forces is horrible or the auto camera is good and luckily, I had no camera trouble the entire game. There are 3 main types of levels in this game and they are the modern Sonic levels, the old school Sonic 2D style levels where you play as classic Sonic and lastly you have the avatar levels which are kind of like a mix between the two but it’s mostly 3D styled.

Your avatar also has a weapon which Sonic does not have and while you can unlock more of them, I stuck with the default weapon the entire game because it was quite over powered. The first level of Sonic Forces is of course Green Hill Zone because every good Sonic game needs at least one Green Hill Zone. Sonic does have a boost button by the way instead of a weapon which is pretty cool that makes you invulnerable.

sonic forces, sonic forces game, sonic games, sonic ps4 games, sonic forces review, sonic forces ps now review, sonic forces ps now, ps now review, game review, best ps4 platformer game, platformer games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now june 2021, ps4 free games,

Despite the corny jokes in the game there were some good jokes too. Going back to the gameplay there was actually a really nice variety of level design in all the levels for Sonic Forces and of course each of the 3 level types will play differently but they actually did a really good job of making unique levels within the 3 styles as well.

Gameplay is something that’s hard to describe of course but the graphics helped the game a lot and the level variety and the level design is a nice compliment to that. The music is amazing with there being 90’s lyrics songs during the 3D Sonic segments, fast paced music during your avatar sections and classic background music for the 2D sections. Even in terms of 2D Sonic levels, I was surprised how many alternate extra routes were added to the levels and not to mention how amazing the levels looked.

sonic forces, sonic forces game, sonic games, sonic ps4 games, sonic forces review, sonic forces ps now review, sonic forces ps now, ps now review, game review, best ps4 platformer game, platformer games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now june 2021, ps4 free games,

Sonic Forces does have a little bit of momentum issues especially in some of the 2D sections but it’s not enough to ruin the game and the checkpoints are so generous that you won’t get stuck anywhere for more than a minute or 2. Sonic Forces was a little bit too easy as I beat the main story and all the secret levels in just over 3 hours but the game is aimed for kids.

Most of the time I spent playing the game it felt like I was facing the game’s bosses which are considered to be the highlight of Sonic Forces as opposed to the game’s levels. I did prefer the levels to the bosses personally but I still liked the bosses a lot. The first boss is actually in the fourth level of the game where you go to the Death Egg. The Boss in this level is Zavok from a previous Sonic game and the entire fight is really easy as it should be for the first boss but I thought it was pretty funny and creative.

sonic forces, sonic forces game, sonic games, sonic ps4 games, sonic forces review, sonic forces ps now review, sonic forces ps now, ps now review, game review, best ps4 platformer game, platformer games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now june 2021, ps4 free games,

The next boss battle you fight is against Infinite who is the main antagonist of the game other than Eggman. This fight is extremely cool as you have to dodge things while also dodging the stuff that the boss throws at you which sends you into another dimension. The third boss is fought by classic Sonic in 2D form and this is a classic 2D Sonic boss battle with the classic twist of having the boss have a little something extra waiting for the Sonic fight. The 2D stages look amazing and this is what every single kid who played the original Sonic games wanted to see.

You fight Infinite with your avatar as well and this fight is kind of hard until you get the hang of it which is exactly how a boss fight should be. Metal Sonic also shows up in the next boss fight on a bridge which is pretty but a lot of the bosses are similar for the most part but this is one of the harder bosses in the game. Infinite shows up for a third and final time and right before his health is gone you hit him with a team attack.

sonic forces, sonic forces game, sonic games, sonic ps4 games, sonic forces review, sonic forces ps now review, sonic forces ps now, ps now review, game review, best ps4 platformer game, platformer games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now june 2021, ps4 free games,

The final boss is against a giant Eggman robot and the fight has 3 stages and it’s honestly a really good final battle to end the game on overall. The first stage was the hardest of the 3 in my opinion. There were 30 levels in the main story along with 6 secret levels and 7 extra levels and there is a free DLC for Sonic Forces called Episode Shadow that adds some more levels to the game. 

There’s actually a decent amount of free DLC for Sonic Forces but most of it is just character customization stuff but the best DLC stuff is the Super Sonic pack and the Shadow pack. The Super Sonic pack allows you to play as Super Sonic on every level which is also kind of cool but this seems like an end game incentive and I think it would be a lot cooler if you just unlock this after beating the game. Episode Shadow DLC also allows you to play as Shadow in every level along with adding 3 levels to the game.

sonic forces, sonic forces game, sonic games, sonic ps4 games, sonic forces review, sonic forces ps now review, sonic forces ps now, ps now review, game review, best ps4 platformer game, platformer games, playstation now, ps now, psfreegames, free playstation games, ps now games, playstation now games, best ps now games, ps now new games, ps now june 2021, ps4 free games,

Episode shadow is a prequel to the main story that basically explains why Infinite became the bad guy. I know the DLC doesn’t add too much extra to Sonic Forces but because it’s free I feel like it needed to be brought up. There are also these SOS messages that show up on levels you’ve already beaten which are like little missions and give you avatar items for completing them.

Overall, I understand this game is kind of lacking in terms of raw content but for what this game brings it is really good. All of the levels look stunningly beautiful and the gameplay is amazing as you alternate between the 3 characters. While the story might not be great, I really think Sonic Forces is at the very least worth a try to any Sonic fan or anyone interested in playing a Sonic game because it is a really good game and this is a perfect example that you can’t take all the negative reviews to heart.

Sonic Forces has been permanently added to the PS NOW library.

Great

Overall, I understand this game is kind of lacking in terms of raw content but for what this game brings it is really good. All of the levels look stunningly beautiful and the gameplay is amazing as you alternate between the 3 characters. While the story might not be great and the length of the game is very short, I really think Sonic Forces is at the very least worth a try.

8
Gameplay:
8
Graphics:
8.5
Soundtrack:
7.5

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    Newsletter SignupDon't miss out on what is new on Free PlayStation Games with our weekly updates.

    Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest reviews and news about Free PlayStation Games.